THE COMFORT ZONE…..

     “OUR COMFORT ZONE CAN BE OUR GREATEST ENEMY TO OUR POTENTIAL.”
-DAVID COTTRELL

I have to tell you guys that never did I think that I would enjoy writing on a daily basis.  Sure, I enjoy giving cards to friends but it was just from my heart and then put on paper.  This blog happens to be the exact same thing now that I stop to think about it.  

I wake up every morning wondering what I’m going to write about today.  The topic seems to choose itself or I see a picture and just know, “THAT’S IT.”  Today it happened to be the quote at the top that was sent to me by my mom.  Talk about a writer, that woman is amazing.  So here I sit ready to pour my brain and heart out for the 6th day in a row.  
As Josh (my boyfriend) and I banter back and forth about workouts today’s workout comes into the conversation, he asks what the workout for today should be.  I know the things he needs to work on as he knows the things I need to work on.  They are very different.  I know he needs to work on his MET CON while I need to work on my strength.  I decide Tuesday is “Murph”, it’s a workout I have not done in about 8 months, and it’s one that I have never posted on our whiteboard.  This workout consists of:
1 mile run
100 pullups
200 pushups
300 squats
1 mile run
It’s physically challenging but mentally it can break you.  So today as I reach the turnaround for my 2nd mile I wanted to walk, I wanted to slow down, I WANTED TO QUIT….yep Lu the trainer, WANTED TO QUIT.  I was alone, no one around, no one at the studio, no one to hold me accountable…No one except for my own conscience my own mind.  
We all have our comfort zones, the places we feel safe, the situations we feel safe in, and the place we are willing to push during a workout.  Just as our abilities all vary so do our comfort zones.  Mine in different than your, Fred’s is different that Wilma’s.  We all have them though and with CrossFit we all learn to step outside of those.  For some, it happens immediately, for some it can take time.  
I have seen clients right away push themselves to tears, while others stay safe in their box.  Both are great!!!  The latter will begin to learn that there is walls to their box that if they decide to break through they will realize personal greatness they did not know existed for them.  It starts with the, “well maybe a little bit more weight”, or you see them sprinting in at the end of a run.  It’s small and they may not see it, but I do and it makes me so happy!!!  
Then there are the people that won’t ever experience that life change that comes with CrossFit because they automatically assume from word of mouth or videos that it’s too hard for them.  They don’t want to try it because it would cause them to enter a place of discomfort.  What they don’t realize is the benefits that come with that step out of the zone of safety.  I’m sure you all know people like this.  We must continue to just encourage them and let them know they can do anything they truly put their minds to.  
I challenge you to analyze your comfort zone…where is it and what can you do to step outside of it?  Watch what happens when you do….THE IMPOSSIBLE!!!  True potential will show itself and you will be rewarded for it.  
Step out…..
Sunday
10 rounds of:
12 Burpees
12 Pullups
16:22
Monday
5 rounds of:
1000m row
10 handstand pushups
20 double unders
31:11
Tuesday 
“Murph”
1 Mile run
100 pullups
200 pushups
300 squats
1 mile run
39:23…this one was tough but I PR’d by about 10 minutes.  
My back and lats will hate me tomorrow for all the pulling but Oh well it was worth it.  
GO GET SOME and REALIZE YOUR POTENTIAL
-Lu
Leave a Reply

